Febrile pancytopenia and psychosis revealing pernicious anemia.

Minerva Med. 2003 Jun;94(3):187-90.

Source

Hematology Division, General Hospital, Annemasse, France. chiab@sante.hautesavoie.net

Abstract

The rare case of a 42-year-old woman of African origin presenting with persecution mania leading to admission to a psychiatric hospital is reported. The outcome was rapidly marked by febrile pancytopenia and ataxia leading to the diagnosis of pernicious anemia. Although the hematologic abnormalities and mania were corrected within 2 weeks under vitamin therapy, neural improvement was slower as observed classically. The literature regarding pancytopenia and psychiatric presentations is briefly reviewed, suggesting that vitamin B(12) deficiency may induce paranoid delusion.

PMID:
14605599
[PubMed – indexed for MEDLINE]

2 Comments

  1. B12 deficiency may defiantly induce paranoid delusions. I speak from experience from an episode last year. I am 40 years old with no history of mental illness, myself or in my family. My mental state has always been rock solid and I have always been happy and optimistic about life. Last year I donated blood in May and again the first week if Sept. Following a week after my first donation I slipped into a paranoid and psychotic state that left me unable to tell the difference between reality and my delusions. My delusions were so real I was paralyzed to understand my definition of reality was not real. I did not seek help because I r early didn’t know the difference. I had two peeks that both followed blood donation. My symptoms very closely matched those of a paranoid schizophrenia. The breaking point is when I realized my job was in jeopardy. A blood test with my primary care physician quickly found a dangerously low B12 which I started taking shots for. Within 6 weeks my sanity returned completely. It took me about 6 months after feeling normal to completely let go of all my delusions. I would liken it to a post traumatic stress. The mind is a power labyrinth scary as hell when it’s not working properly. I am a year away from this now eating healthy and taking vitamins every day and I feel great.

Leave a comment